National Law University Delhi
(Accredited in 'A' grade with a score 3.59 on a four point scale by NAAC) 
Home › Events/News


NLUD wins 29th Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition (October 23, 2020)

Dear All,


I am pleased to share that the National Law University Delhi team comprising of Abhishek Jain, Anmol Dhawan and Shubh Arora has been declared the Winner of the World Finals of the 29th Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition on October 23, 2020. The team also won the Lee Love Award for the Best Team.


The NLU Delhi team faced the University of Vienna in the finals and was declared winner by a unanimous decision of a bench comprising three sitting judges of the International Court of Justice (ICJ). The judges for the finals were Judge Peter Tomka of Slovakia, Judge Joan E. Donoghue of the United States and Judge Kirill Gevorgian of Russia.


The Lachs Moot is named in the honour of Judge Manfred H. Lachs, a Polish diplomat and one of the longest serving judges of ICJ, and is organized by the International Institute of Space Law (IISL), Paris.


The world finals were held as part of IISL’s Annual Colloquium, which is itself a part of the International Astronautical Congress, the biggest congregation of dignitaries and professionals engaged in various facets of space exploration, held in a different continent every year. This year's web edition of the Congress saw the signing of the Artemis Accords concerning exploration of the moon.


I would like to congratulate Abhishek, Anmol and Shubh for this achievement and especially for doing it in the background of Covid 19, where the traditional format was affected and the team had to adapt and prepare for the online format and did not have as much resources as they would ordinarily have on campus. It is a matter of great pride and celebration for all of us.


It is indeed a very proud moment for NLU Delhi faculty, staff, students and alumni which would not have been possible especially without the support and guidance of:

  • Hon’ble Mr. Justice N. V. Ramana, Judge, Supreme Court of India and Visitor, National Law University Delhi.
  • Hon’ble Mr. Justice D. N. Patel, Chief Justice, Delhi High Court and Chancellor, National Law University Delhi.
  • All the Hon’ble Members of the University Bodies.


I also extend my heartiest congratulations to the Faculty Advisor, the entire Moot Court Committee, and also others who helped our team.


In its short span of 12 years, NLU Delhi has established a very strong and illustrious tradition of mooting and, this achievement builds on that. I hope and wish that this achievement would motivate our students and other teams to excel and perform better in the coming years.


With best wishes and seasons' greetings,


Professor Srikrishna Deva Rao

Vice Chancellor 

National Law University Delhi