National Law University Delhi
(Accredited in 'A' grade with a score 3.59 on a four point scale by NAAC) 
Home › UpComing Events

UpComing Events Details

Herbert Smith Freehills – NLU Delhi

International Negotiation Competition 2018


The fifth edition of the the International Negotiation Competition, jointly organised by Herbert Smith Freehills LLP and National Law University, Delhi, will be held at NLU Delhi from 7 – 9 September 2018. Started in 2014, this invite-only Competition is the first of its kind in India. It brings together students from top law universities across the globe to participate in negotiations based on simulations that closely imitate an international environment.


The negotiation simulations consist of a common set of facts known to all participants, and confidential information known only to the participants representing a particular side. Teams submit a negotiation plan prior to the Competition, and then discuss these plans with the other party in negotiation sessions that last for eighty to ninety minutes.


In addition to the valuable experience of interacting with teams and professionals from various countries, the Competition has many rewards. At the end of the Competition, the Best Negotiation Team is awarded a cash prize of GBP 1000 (INR 90,000 approx.), while the Runners-Up receive a cash prize of GBP 500 (INR 45,000 approx.). The Best Negotiator and the team with the Best Negotiation Plan receives a cash prize of GBP 100 (INR 9,000 approx.) each. The team which best represents the spirit of negotiation through their communication skills receives the ‘Spirit of the Competition’ award and a cash prize of GBP 100 (INR 9,000 approx.).


The 2017 edition of the competition saw the University of Technology, Sydney emerge as the overall winner, while the University of Melbourne bagged second place Mr. Jack Fogl from the University of Technology, Sydney was the best negotiator and National Law University Odisha won the award for the best negotiation plan. Additionally, the team from Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria received the Spirit of the Competition Award by popular vote.


Over the years, the other winners have been –

  • 2016 (third edition) – University of Sunshine Coast (Winners), Australian National University (Runners-Up)


  • 2015 (second edition) – University of Cambridge (Winners), Deakin University (Runners-Up)


  • 2014 (first edition) – Australian National University (Winners),  GNLU Gandhinagar (Runners-Up)


Negotiation Simulations: 4th HSF - NLU Delhi International Negotiation Competition 2017


2017 Preliminary Round 1 Negotiation Simulation


2017 Preliminary Round 2 Negotiation Simulation


Best Negotiation Plans: HSF - NLU Delhi International Negotiation Competition 2017



INC 2018 Flyer


INC Competition Rules 2018