

ASSOCIATION OF INDIAN UNIVERSITIES ANNUAL NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF VICE CHANCELLORS



"REIMAGINING INDIAN UNIVERSITIES"

(Through Virtual mode)
August 17-18, 2020
Hosted by
NATIONAL LAW UNIVERSITY, DELHI

PROGRAMME SCHEDULE

DAY -1: 17 AUGUST, 2020

DAY AND TIME	PROGRAMME
10.30 AM-11.00 AM	Joining the Virtual Conference
11.00 AM-11.05 AM 11.05 AM-11.10 AM 11.10 AM-11.15 AM 11.15 AM-11.50 AM	Welcome: Prof. Tej Partap, President, AIU Introduction: Dr. (Mrs.) Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU Introductory Film on the Shri Kailash Satyarthi AIU FOUNDATION DAY LECTURE: Shri Kailash Satyarthi, Nobel Peace Laureate
11.50 AM-11.52 AM	Vote of Thanks
11.50 AM-12.00 Noon	Comfort Break
12.00 Noon-01.30 PM	INAUGURATION
12.00 Noon-12.08 PM	Welcome: Dr. Ranbir Singh, VC, NLU, Delhi
12.08 PM-12.16 PM	Introductory Remarks: Dr. Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU
12.16 PM-12.24 PM	Address: Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE
12.24 PM-12.32 PM	Address: Prof. K K Aggarwal, Chairman, NBA
12.32 PM-12.40 PM	Address: Prof. D P Singh, Chairman, UGC
12.40 PM-12.48 PM	Address: Prof. Tej Partap, President, AIU
12.48 PM-01.00 PM	 Release of Edited Volume on "Reimagining Indian Universities" Release of "Monograph on Protecting Academic Interest of Students during COVID-19: Sharing Best Practices" Launch of AIU Portal
01.00 PM-01.30 PM	Address by Hon'ble Union Minister of Education,
	Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank'
01.30 PM- 01.32 PM	Vote of Thanks: <i>Prof. G. S. Bajpai</i> , Registrar, NLU, Delhi
01.32 PM - 02.00 PM	Lunch BREAK
02.00 PM - 03.30 PM	PROMOTING RESEARCH AND INNOVATION
	Chair: Prof. Bhushan Patwardhan, Vice Chairman, UGC
	Panellists (To Speak for 10mts each): Prof. Krishan Lal, Former President, INSA, New Delhi Prof. T. G. Sitharam, Director, IIT-Guwahati Dr.S. Vaidhyasubramaniam, Vice Chancellor, SASTRA
	Open Session

03.30 PM - 04.00 PM	COMFORT BREAK	
04.00 PM - 05.30 PM	GOVERNANCE REFORMS	
	Chair: Shri Shekhar Dutt, Former Governor, Chhattisgarh	
	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each):	
	 Mr. Naveen Mittal, Commissioner of Collegiate Education, Telangana Prof. R K Mishra, Director, Institute of Public Enterprise, Hyderabad Prof. Nageshwar Rao, Vice Chancellor, IGNOU, New Delhi 	
	Open Session	
DAY-2: 18 TH AUGUST		
10.00 AM - 10.05 AM	Welcome: Prof. Tej Partap, President, AIU	
10.05 AM - 10.10 AM	Introduction: Dr. (Mrs.) Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU	
10.10 AM - 10.45 AM	SPECIAL ADDRESS by PADMA VIBHUSHAN DR. K. KASTURIRANGAN Vote of Thanks	
10.45 AM- 12.00 Noon	DEVELOPING EMPLOYABILITY AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP	
	Chair: Ms. <i>Juthika Patankar</i> , Additional Secretary, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship	
	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each): Prof. Souvik Bhattacharyya, Vice Chancellor, BITS, Pilani	
	 Dr. Raj Nehru, Vice Chancellor, Vishwakarma Skill University, Gurugram Col. Dr. G. Thiruvasagam, Vice President, AIU & VC, AMET Univ Prof. R.L. Raina, Vice Chancellor, JK Lakshmipat University, Jaipur 	
	Open Session	
12.00 Noon -12.15PM	COMFORT BREAK	
12.15 PM - 01.30 PM	TOWARDS GLOBAL BEST TEACHING LEARNING	
	PROCESS	
	Chair: Prof. Dinesh Singh, Chancellor, KR Mangalam University, Gurugram & Former Vice Chancellor, University of Delhi	
	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each):	
	Prof. Rajnish Jain, Secretary, UGC Dr Anoop Swarup, Vice Chancellor, Jagran Lake University, Bhopal Dr Anubha Singh, Vice Chancellor, Alliance University, Bangalore	
04.00 53.5.05.00	Open Session	
01.30 PM- 02.00 PM	Break	
02.00 PM - 03.15 PM	IMPROVING ACCESS AND EQUITY	
	Chair: <i>Prof. Sandeep Sancheti</i> , Past President AIU, & Vice-Chancellor SRM Institute of Science & Tech., Chennai	

	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each):
	Prof P B Sharma , Former President, AIU and Vice Chancellor, Amity University, Manesar
	Prof. Kavita Sharma, Former President, South Asian University,New DelhiProf. Furqan Qamar, Former Secretary General, AIU
	<i>Dr. Rajiv Yeravdekar</i> , Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, Symbiosis International (Deemed University), Pune
	Open Session
03.15 PM —04.30 PM	EXCELLENCE, INTERNATIONALIZATION AND GLOBAL RANKINGS
	Chair: Prof. N.V. Varghese, Vice Chancellor, NIEPA
	Panellists(To Speak for 10mts each): Prof. C. Raj Kumar, Vice Chancellor, OP Jindal Global University, Sonipat Dr. Gulshan Sharma, Director General, ICSI Prof. Vidya Yeravdekar, Pro Chancellor, Symbiosis International (Deemed University) Pune.
	Open Session
04.30 PM-05.30 PM	VALEDICTORY SESSION
	Welcome Note: Prof Tej Partap, President, AIU
	Summing Up: <i>Prof M.M Salunkhe</i> Immediate Past President, AIU VC, Bharati Vidyapeeth
	Valedictory Address by Dr. Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, Hon'ble Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) & President, ICCR
	Vote of Thanks: Dr. (Mrs.) Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU